This entire week has been CRAZY!!! This the reason I have not been able to update my blog lately… (which makes me sad :()

I’ve literally been in training all week-long for work! During this training I found out that I will be doing some traveling come August and September… But it’s not anywhere cool… just Houston.  I will be gone the week of August 27-31, then again September 4-7, then I will be in local training again September 24-28th. Ohy, my head hurts just thinking about it! Oh, the first week of school… I will be out-of-town... So I’m hoping my teachers are going to be OK with Josh filling in for me that week… is that legal?

Even with this crazy week, I had time to bake a cake! (totally random I know…) . A Peach Amaretto Upside Down Cake to be exact! Boy did it hit the spot. And no, this is not a Weight Watchers recipe (but it does have fruit hmm…) I enjoyed every last bite of it, and I guarantee… so will you (expectantly if you top it off with Blue Bell Ice Cream)

Peach Amaretto Upside Down Cake

Ingredients

  • 3/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup melted butter
  • 3 Tbs Amaretto liquor (always take a sip or 2 before to make sure it tastes good ;))
  • 2 peaches, cut very thin
  • 1/2 cup chopped pecans
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp almond extract
  • 1/4 cup milk

Directions

Preheat the oven to 350.

Whisk together the flour and baking powder in a bowl and set aside.  Stir together the brown sugar, 1/4 cup melted butter, and amaretto in a 9-inch pie pan until the sugar starts to dissolve.  After sugar is dissolved,  place the peach slices on top then sprinkle the top with the chopped pecans; set aside. Beat 1/4 cup melted butter with 1/2 cup white sugar with an electric mixer until light and fluffy. Beat in the eggs 1 at a time, then add the almond extract. Pour in the flour mixture alternately with the milk, mixing just until incorporated. Gently pour the batter into the pan, over the top of the peaches and pecans.

Bake for about 25 min, or until a tooth pick inserted in the middle comes out clean. Let is cool in the pan for about 10 min before you flip it onto a plate. Before you flip it, you may want to run a knife along the edges so that nothing sticks.

Be sure to eat it warm with some ice cream (do yourself a favor, and get Blue Bell)! It’s sooo delicious! I’m drooling thinking about making this again and eating it!!!

 

Oh did i mention I would be gone next week also, my family is going on a cruise!! We will be stopping off in Cozumel and Progreso, Mexico. I can’t wait to be snorkeling and eating local food in Cozumel!! Not sure yet what Pregreso will bring, but I know there will be sun and the Beach involved! All I know is, I cant wait to be on a vacations and get away for a while… I sure will miss my babies though, but not to worry, we have them all set up to go to their own resort for the week (Dogs Rule Resort :))

Well as they say “Bon Voyage

WEST OUT!